RSS Feed

Babies don’t keep

Posted on

STOP THIS RIDICULOUS NONSENSE! YOU GO TO BED SO LATE NOW MUMMY IS TOO BUSY. IT’S GONE HALF 8 AND I’VE STILL GOT THE KITCHEN TO CLEAN!

This was what a screamed at my 3 year old son this evening while he lay in his bed whimpering “sit with me”

He had already gotten out of bed 3 times, knocked a shelf over on his sister and messed about during story time, so to say I was a little fed up is an understatement.

However as I went to leave the room, time slowed down. A line from a poem I once read crept into my head…

I’m rocking my baby, and babies don’t keep

I took a deep breath, my heart slowed, I calmed. I walked into his room picked him up into my arms and hugged him tight. “You scared me” he whimpered. “I’m sorry” I said.

I laid him down, tucked him in and stroked his forehead. “I love you, You are important, I am not cross” I said to him. He smiled. His sister laying in bed across the room seemed to settle with the words too.

I sat silently on the bed, listening to the fan in the room. Slowly but without protest both children fell asleep. I have told myself many times before, the best way to get my kids to sleep is to be with them, give them time, no rush just me. It seems I still forget this sometimes. 

babies don't keep

I love this poem, reminds me whats important in life. I’m glad I thought of it tonight.

The author of this poem is Ruth Hulburt Hamilton

 

About mamabmumto3

Mama to 3 little monkeys and running my own business offering antenatal and postnatal services. Here are the random thoughts, strange theories and observations of life of a mama, business woman and loon!

One response »

Leave a Reply

